Root Chakra

The root chakra, also known as Muladhara is the first chakra of the chakra anatomy. It is located at the base of the spine. The color is red with a square shape and four petals of the lotus flower. The properties of the base chakra are very instinctual, emphasizing basic needs, survival, grounding, foundation, and security. Another way to understand is Maslow’s Hierarchy of needs. The first tier of the pyramid is physiological needs to help us function just like Muladhara. Muladhara builds a cornerstone with our environment, earth, and body. It is important to feel secure and safe in who we are to make it easier to survive. Sometimes situations can occur where our needs are compromised, or our foundation of who we are is faulty. When we lack these basic needs and foundations, we may experience imbalances. Feelings of insecurities, cynicism, negative energy and living in constant survival mode will reflect a deficiency in the base chakra. Physical defects may manifest as eating disorders, colon and bladder problems, and prostate complications in men. 

Muladhara Affirmations

Luckily, there are ways to heal and activate subtle energy for Muladhara. Each chakra has affirmations specifically to help heal stagnant energy. These affirmations can be said every day as a daily reminder. It is useful to pick an affirmation during meditation or before setting Sankalpa. A few examples of these affirmations are: 

  • “I am deeply rooted. 
  • I feel safe and secure. 
  • I stand for my values, for truth, and justice.”

Affirmations help with reassuring your confidence. It is shifting negative energy or thoughts into positivity. A tip for balancing the root chakra is to focus on the tip of your nose to emulate qualities. The nose is the sense organ for Muladhara which makes sense of smell very heightened.

Yoga Poses To Activate Muladhara 

  • There are poses in a yoga practice that can activate Muladhara energy. The first position is Sukhasana where you are sitting in a cross-legged position with your eyes closed. Staying in allows you to meditate and ground yourself on the mat. It is great for setting your intention and shifting your focus to the objective of the day. It helps with personal balance and trusting your thoughts. 
  • The second pose is Balasana which is also known as the child’s pose. It is often a resting pose. Take the time to let your body surrender and commit to the practice. 
  • Mountain pose is a perfect pose for grounding and building your foundation. Remember to inhale and exhale deeply in this pose. Doing this outside may establish a deeper connection with the environment and the world around you. 

Feeling secure with your emotions and needs develops strength in Muladhara energy over time. Practicing affirmations and poses will open the chakra or eliminate the negative energy that is blocking the base chakra. 

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *